#4: Ridiculously Cheap and Pleintiful Parking Downtown

20130508_185409_resizedContinuing my love of Jacksonville’s downtown, I’m constantly amazed by how easy it is to park here.  Of all the major or even mid-sized cities that I’ve visited, Jacksonville is by far the easiest, or one of the easiest, cities to find parking.  I think there’s at least three reasons why parking in downtown Jacksonville is so great.

First, we got a cool app that helps you find parking.  How cool is that?

Second20130508_185414_resized, many, many of the meters downtown take credit cards.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve cursed the change gods for failing to leave me a spare quarter in my car — those problems are a thing of the past.  Woohoo, twenty first century solutions to nineteenth century problems.

Third, parking in this city is absurdly cheap!  I can park downtown for 50 cents an hour.  That’s insane.  In Washington DC, where I just moved from, parking was $2 an hour.  Now, sure, there’s a greater premium on parking in DC which might justify higher parking rates.  But, whatever the case, you’re not going to see me complaining about parking in Jacksonville.  I’m taking my $1.50/hour straight to the bank!

Leave a comment